Abstract collage of science-related imagery

Dear Colleague Letter: Supplemental Opportunity for Translational Research in the Academic Community (TRAC) (NSF 10-044)

Status: Archived

Archived funding opportunity

This document has been archived.

Important information for proposers

All proposals must be submitted in accordance with the requirements specified in this funding opportunity and in the NSF Proposal & Award Policies & Procedures Guide (PAPPG) that is in effect for the relevant due date to which the proposal is being submitted. It is the responsibility of the proposer to ensure that the proposal meets these requirements. Submitting a proposal prior to a specified deadline does not negate this requirement.

Synopsis

See the Dear Colleague Letter, NSF 10-044, announcing this opportunity at http://www.nsf.gov/pubs/2010/nsf10044/nsf10044.jsp

The goal of fundamental research in science and engineering is the discovery of new knowledge.  At the same time, there is an expectation that some of these discoveries will lay the foundation for new innovations that may eventually be used to develop new products and processes.  However, for a discovery to be successfully translated into a new product or process and attract the sponsorship of or additional support from the commercial/government practitioner communities, the champions of the technology must be able to identify and communicate a development plan linking the concepts at the fundamental level with feasible application scenarios.  Often this means additional research in the form of prototyping, proof of concept tests and/or scale-up or implementation.   To facilitate this objective, the TRAC program provides targeted resources to researchers aimed at translating fundamental research into commercial applications.  Existing NSF GOALI grantees whose research results have commercial potential can compete for support to help position their technology for translation. Funds will be provided for product or process definition, design, and testing.   

Program contacts

Rathindra DasGupta
rdasgupt@nsf.gov (703) 292-8353
Cheryl F. Albus
calbus@nsf.gov (703) 292-7051
Rosemarie D. Wesson
rwesson@nsf.gov (703) 292-7070
George Antos
gantos@nsf.gov (703) 292-4997
Mary Toney
mtoney@nsf.gov (703) 292-7008
Bruce M. Kramer
bkramer@nsf.gov (703) 292-5348 ENG/CMMI
Barbara H. Kenny
bkenny@nsf.gov (703) 292-4667
Deborah J. Jackson
djackson@nsf.gov (703) 292-7499 ENG/EEC
George Maracas
gmaracas@nsf.gov (703) 292-8339
Pradeep Fulay
pfulay@nsf.gov (703) 292-8339 TIP/ITE

Awards made through this program

Browse projects funded by this program
Map of recent awards made through this program