Abstract collage of science-related imagery

Division of Physics: Investigator-Initiated Research Projects (PHY)

Status: Archived

Archived funding opportunity

This document has been archived. See NSF 23-615 for the latest version.

Important information for proposers

All proposals must be submitted in accordance with the requirements specified in this funding opportunity and in the NSF Proposal & Award Policies & Procedures Guide (PAPPG) that is in effect for the relevant due date to which the proposal is being submitted. It is the responsibility of the proposer to ensure that the proposal meets these requirements. Submitting a proposal prior to a specified deadline does not negate this requirement.

Synopsis

The Division of Physics (PHY) supports physics research and the preparation of future scientists in the nation’s colleges and universities across a broad range of physics disciplines that span scales of space and time from the largest to the smallest and the oldest to the youngest.  The Division is comprised of disciplinary programs covering experimental and theoretical research in the following major subfields of physics: Atomic, Molecular and Optical Physics; Elementary Particle Physics; Gravitational Physics; Integrative Activities in Physics; Nuclear Physics; Particle Astrophysics; Physics at the Information Frontier; Physics of Living Systems; Plasma Physics; and Quantum Information Science.

Additional Information

The Division of Physics strongly encourages single proposal submission for possible co-review rather than submission of multiple related proposals to several programs.

PIs considering submitting more than one proposal to this solicitation, or who already have an active PHY award, are encouraged to first consult with the relevant program officer(s) before preparing a new proposal. This does not apply to awards from or submissions to the MRI, REU, and/or center programs, or in cases of renewal proposals.

 

Program contacts

Krastan B. Blagoev
Physics of Living Systems
kblagoev@nsf.gov (703) 292-4666 MPS/PHY
Mark Coles
Projects and Facilities
mcoles@nsf.gov (703) 292-4432 MPS/PHY
Alex Cronin
Quantum Information Science
acronin@nsf.gov (703) 292-5302 MPS/PHY
Keith R. Dienes
Elementary Particle Physics - Theory; Particle Astrophysics and Cosmology - Theory
kdienes@nsf.gov (703) 292-5314 MPS/PHY
Robert Forrey
Atomic, Molecular and Optical Physics - Theory
rforrey@nsf.gov (703) 292-5199 MPS/PHY
Edmundo J. Garcia-Solis
ejgarcia@nsf.gov (703) 292-4493 MPS/PHY
Julio R. Gea-Banacloche
Quantum Information Science
jgeabana@nsf.gov (703) 292-7936 MPS/PHY
John Gillaspy
Atomic, Molecular and Optical Physics - Experiment
jgillasp@nsf.gov (703) 292-7173 MPS/PHY
Saul Gonzalez Martirena
Elementary Particle Physics - Experiment
sgonzale@nsf.gov (703) 292-2093 MPS/OAD
Kevin Jones
Atomic, Molecular and Optical Physics - Experiment
kejones@nsf.gov (703) 292-7732 MPS/PHY
Vyacheslav (Slava) Lukin
Plasma Physics
vlukin@nsf.gov (703) 292-7382 MPS/PHY
Pedro Marronetti
Gravitational Physics - Theory and Experiment; LIGO Research Support
pmarrone@nsf.gov (703) 292-7372 MPS/PHY
Kathleen McCloud
Integrative Activities in Physics
kmccloud@nsf.gov (703) 292-8236 MPS/OAD
Bogdan Mihaila
Physics at the Information Frontier; Nuclear Physics - Theory
bmihaila@nsf.gov (703) 292-8235 MPS/PHY
Allena K. Opper
Nuclear Physics - Experiment
aopper@nsf.gov (703) 292-8958 MPS/PHY
James T. Shank
Elementary Particle Physics - Experiment
jshank@nsf.gov (703) 292-4516 MPS/PHY
Nigel A. Sharp
Particle Astrophysics (Cosmic Phenomena) - Experiment
nsharp@nsf.gov (703) 292-4905 MPS/AST
James H. Thomas
Nuclear Physics - Experiment
jhthomas@nsf.gov (703) 292-2911 MPS/PHY
James Whitmore
Particle Astrophysics (Underground Physics) - Experiment
jwhitmor@nsf.gov (703) 292-8908

Awards made through this program

Browse projects funded by this program