Abstract collage of science-related imagery

Major Research Instrumentation Program: (MRI)

Status: Archived

Archived funding opportunity

This document has been archived. See NSF 23-519 for the latest version.

Important information for proposers

All proposals must be submitted in accordance with the requirements specified in this funding opportunity and in the NSF Proposal & Award Policies & Procedures Guide (PAPPG) that is in effect for the relevant due date to which the proposal is being submitted. It is the responsibility of the proposer to ensure that the proposal meets these requirements. Submitting a proposal prior to a specified deadline does not negate this requirement.

Instrument Acquisition or Development

A new solicitation implementing support for MRI in the CHIPS and Science Act of 2022 will be posted soon, with the FY 2023 submission deadline following by at least 90 days. Address questions to MRI program directors below or to mri@nsf.gov.

Synopsis

The Major Research Instrumentation (MRI) Program serves to increase access to multi-user scientific and engineering instrumentation for research and research training in our Nation's institutions of higher education and not-for-profit scientific/engineering research organizations. An MRI award supports the acquisition or development of a multi-user research instrument that is, in general, too costly and/or not appropriate for support through other NSF programs.

MRI provides support to acquire critical research instrumentation without which advances in fundamental science and engineering research may not otherwise occur. MRI also provides support to develop next-generation research instruments that open new opportunities to advance the frontiers in science and engineering research. Additionally, an MRI award is expected to enhance research training of students who will become the next generation of instrument users, designers and builders.

An MRI proposal may request up to $4 million for either acquisition or development of a research instrument. Beginning with the FY 2018 competition, each performing organization may submit in revised “Tracks” as defined below, with no more than two submissions in Track 1 and no more than one submission in Track 2.

  • Track 1: Track 1 MRI proposals are those that request funds from NSF greater than or equal to $100,0001 and less than $1,000,000.
  • Track 2: Track 2 MRI proposals are those that request funds from NSF greater than or equal to $1,000,000 up to and including $4,000,000.

Consistent with the America COMPETES Act of 2007 (Public Law 110-69), cost sharing of precisely 30% of the total project cost is required for Ph.D.-granting institutions of higher education and for non-degree-granting organizations. Non-Ph.D.-granting institutions of higher education are exempt from the cost-sharing requirement and cannot include it. National Science Board policy prohibits voluntary committed cost sharing.

Please see the solicitation text for organizational definitions used by the MRI program.

The MRI Program especially seeks broad representation of PIs in its award portfolio, including  women, underrepresented minorities and persons with disabilities. Since demographic diversity may be greater among early-career researchers the MRI program also encourages proposals with early-career PIs and proposals that benefit early-career researchers.

Program contacts

Additional MRI Program Contacts

OD OIA Randy Phelps mri@nsf.gov

OD

OIA

Jonathan Friedman

mri@nsf.gov

BIO

DBI

Fleischmann, Robert

rfleisch@nsf.gov

BIO

DBI

Weller, Jennifer

jweller@nsf.gov

CISE

CNS

Medhi, Deep

dmedhi@nsf.gov

CISE

CNS

Goldsmith, Nicholas

nicgolds@nsf.gov

CISE

OAC

Suarez, Alejandro

alsuarez@nsf.gov

CISE

OAC

Kanaev, Andrey

akanaev@nsf.gov

EDU

HRD

Dearo, Jessie

jdearo@nsf.gov

EDU

HRD

Cubano, Luis

lcubano@nsf.gov

ENG

ECCS

Lukaszew, Rosa Alejandro

rlukasze@nsf.gov

ENG

ECCS

Chakrabortty, Aranya

achakrab@nsf.gov

ENG

ECCS

Goldberg, Lawrence S.

lgoldber@nsf.gov

ENG

ECCS

Nash, Richard

rnash@nsf.gov

ENG

CBET

Daily, John

jdaily@nsf.gov

ENG

CBET

Shojaei-Zadeh, Shahab

sshojaei@nsf.gov

ENG

CMMI

Crone, Wendy

wcrone@nsf.gov

GEO

AGS

Anderson, Nicholas F.

nanderso@nsf.gov

GEO

EAR

Kelz, Russell

rkelz@nsf.gov

GEO

EAR

Lambert, David

DLambert@nsf.gov

GEO

OCE

Binkley, Kandace S.

kbinkley@nsf.gov

GEO

OPP

Papatasvili, Vladimir

vpapita@nsf.gov

MPS

AST

Ninkov, Zoran

zninkov@nsf.gov

MPS

CHE

Carter, Kenneth

krcarter@nsf.gov

MPS

CHE

Whitmer, Tanya

twhitmer@nsf.gov

MPS

CHE

Almirall, Jose

jalmiral@nsf.gov

MPS

DMR

Omar Diallo, Souleymane

somardia@nsf.gov

MPS

DMR

Spinu, Leonard

LSpinu@NSF.gov

MPS

DMR

Tessema, Guebre

gtessema@nsf.gov

MPS

DMR

Ying, Charles

CYING@nsf.gov

MPS

DMS

Bartoszynski, Tomek

tbartosz@nsf.gov

MPS

PHY

McCloud, Kathy

kmccloud@nsf.gov

MPS

PHY

Coles, Mark

mcoles@nsf.gov

SBE

BCS

Yellen, John E.

jyellen@nsf.gov


E-Mail: mri@nsf.gov

OIA MRI Website: http://www.nsf.gov/od/oia/programs/mri

Randy L. Phelps
mri@nsf.gov (703) 292-5049 OD/OIA
Jonathan Friedman
mri@nsf.gov (703) 292-7475 OD/OIA

Awards made through this program

Browse projects funded by this program