Abstract collage of science-related imagery

Next Generation Software for Data-driven Models of Space Weather with Quantified Uncertainties (SWQU)

Status: Archived

Archived funding opportunity

This document has been archived.

Important information for proposers

All proposals must be submitted in accordance with the requirements specified in this funding opportunity and in the NSF Proposal & Award Policies & Procedures Guide (PAPPG) that is in effect for the relevant due date to which the proposal is being submitted. It is the responsibility of the proposer to ensure that the proposal meets these requirements. Submitting a proposal prior to a specified deadline does not negate this requirement.

Synopsis

This solicitation addresses the overlapping objectives of the National Space Weather Strategy and Action Plan (NSW-SAP) and the National Strategic Computing Initiative (NSCI) Update through a pilot program. The goal of this pilot program is to transform development of predictive modeling of the coupled evolution of the magnetized solar atmosphere and the solar wind, and their interaction with the Earth’s magnetosphere and upper atmosphere.  This requires advancing our understanding of the necessary and sufficient requirements of model complexity, computational performance, and observational inputs. The pilot program is also expected to directly contribute to the long-term goal of creating space weather models with quantifiable predictive capability.

Program contacts

 NASA Contacts:

  • James  Spann, Space Weather Lead, NASA Headquarters, telephone: (202)358-0574, email: jim.spann@nasa.gov

  • Jeff  Morrill, Program Scientist, NASA Headquarters, telephone: (202) 358-3744, email: jeff.s.morrill@nasa.gov

Vyacheslav (Slava) Lukin
Program Director, Division of Physics
vlukin@nsf.gov (703) 292-7382 MPS/PHY
Bogdan Mihaila
Program Director, Division of Physics
bmihaila@nsf.gov (703) 292-8235 MPS/PHY
Mangala Sharma
Program Director
msharma@nsf.gov (703) 292-4773 GEO/AGS
Ilia I. Roussev
Program Director, Division of Atmospheric and Geospace Sciences
iroussev@nsf.gov (703) 292-8519
David A. Boboltz
Program Director, Division of Astronomical Sciences
dboboltz@nsf.gov (703) 292-2199
Leland M. Jameson
Program Director, Division of Mathematical Sciences
ljameson@nsf.gov (703) 292-4883
Yong Zeng
Program Director, Division of Mathematical Sciences
yzeng@nsf.gov (703) 292-7902 MPS/DMS
Vipin Chaudhary
Program Director, Office of Advanced Cyberinfrastructure
vipchaud@nsf.gov (703) 292-2254
James Spann
Space Weather Lead
jim.spann@nasa.gov (202)358-0574 NASA Headquarters
Jeff Morrill
Program Scientist
jeff.s.morrill@nasa.gov (202) 358-3744 NASA Headquarters

Awards made through this program

Browse projects funded by this program
Map of recent awards made through this program