Abstract collage of science-related imagery

Strengthening American Infrastructure

View guidelines

NSF 22-564

Important information for proposers

All proposals must be submitted in accordance with the requirements specified in this funding opportunity and in the NSF Proposal & Award Policies & Procedures Guide (PAPPG) that is in effect for the relevant due date to which the proposal is being submitted. It is the responsibility of the proposer to ensure that the proposal meets these requirements. Submitting a proposal prior to a specified deadline does not negate this requirement.

Synopsis

Strengthening American Infrastructure (SAI) is an NSF Program seeking to stimulate human-centered fundamental and potentially transformative research aimed at strengthening America’s infrastructure. Effective infrastructure provides a strong foundation for socioeconomic vitality and broad quality of life improvement. Strong, reliable, and effective infrastructure spurs private-sector innovation, grows the economy, creates jobs, makes public-sector service provision more efficient, strengthens communities, promotes equal opportunity, protects the natural environment, enhances national security, and fuels American leadership. Achieving these objectives requires the integration of expertise from across all science and engineering disciplines. SAI focuses on how fundamental knowledge about human reasoning and decision-making, governance, and social and cultural processes enables the building and maintenance of effective infrastructure that improves lives and society and builds on advances in technology and engineering. Successful projects will represent a convergence of expertise in one or more SBE sciences deeply integrated with other disciplines to support substantial and potentially pathbreaking, fundamental research applied to strengthening a specific and focal infrastructure.

 

 

 

General inquiries regarding this funding opportunity should be sent to NSF-SAI@nsf.gov.

Program contacts

Steven Breckler
Program Director, SBE
sbreckle@nsf.gov (703) 292-7369
Sara Kiesler
SBE
skiesler@nsf.gov (703) 292-8643 SBE/SES
Jeremy Koster
SBE
jkoster@nsf.gov (703) 292-8740 SBE/BCS
Kristin E. Kuyuk
SBE
kkuyuk@nsf.gov (703) 292-4904 SBE/BCS
Joseph M. Whitmeyer
SBE
jwhitmey@nsf.gov (703) 292-7808 SBE/SES
Darleen L. Fisher
CISE
dlfisher@nsf.gov (703) 292-8950 CISE/CNS
Michael Ford
EHR
miford@nsf.gov (703) 292-5153 EHR/DRL
Gianluca Cusatis
ENG
gcusatis@nsf.gov (703) 292-5026 ENG/CMMI
David A. Sutherland
GEO
dasuther@nsf.gov (703) 292-8030 GEO/OPP
Robert Meulenberg
MPS
rmeulenb@nsf.gov (703) 292-7106 MPS/DMR
Randy L. Phelps
OIA
rphelps@nsf.gov (703) 292-8040 OD/OIA
Amanda A. Simcox
BIO
asimcox@nsf.gov (703) 292-8470 BIO/DBI

Awards made through this program

Browse projects funded by this program
Map of recent awards made through this program