Abstract collage of science-related imagery

Strengthening American Infrastructure (SAI)

Status: Archived

Archived funding opportunity

This document has been archived. See NSF 24-519 for the latest version.

Important information for proposers

All proposals must be submitted in accordance with the requirements specified in this funding opportunity and in the NSF Proposal & Award Policies & Procedures Guide (PAPPG) that is in effect for the relevant due date to which the proposal is being submitted. It is the responsibility of the proposer to ensure that the proposal meets these requirements. Submitting a proposal prior to a specified deadline does not negate this requirement.

Supports research that incorporates scientific insights about human behavior and social dynamics to better design, develop, rehabilitate and maintain strong and effective American infrastructure.

Synopsis

Strengthening American Infrastructure (SAI) is an NSF program seeking to stimulate human-centered fundamental and potentially transformative research aimed at strengthening America’s infrastructure. Effective infrastructure provides a strong foundation for socioeconomic vitality and broad improvement in quality of life. Strong, reliable and effective infrastructure spurs private-sector innovation, grows the economy, creates jobs, makes public-sector service provision more efficient, strengthens communities, promotes equal opportunity, protects the natural environment, enhances national security and fuels American leadership. Achieving these objectives requires the integration of expertise from across all science and engineering disciplines. SAI focuses on how fundamental knowledge about human reasoning and decision-making, governance, and social and cultural processes enables the building and maintenance of effective infrastructure that improves lives and society and builds on advances in technology and engineering. Successful projects will represent a convergence of expertise in one or more social, behavioral or economic sciences, deeply integrated with other disciplines to support substantial and potentially pathbreaking fundamental research applied to strengthening a specific focal infrastructure.

General inquiries regarding this funding opportunity should be sent to NSF-SAI@nsf.gov.

Program contacts

Steven Breckler
Program Director, SBE
sbreckle@nsf.gov (703) 292-7369
Thomas Evans
SBE
tevans@nsf.gov (703) 292-4891 SBE/BCS
Claudia Gonzalez-Vallejo
SBE
clagonza@nsf.gov (703) 292-4710 SBE/SES
Sara Kiesler
SBE
skiesler@nsf.gov (703) 292-8643 SBE/SES
Jeremy Koster
SBE
jkoster@nsf.gov (703) 292-8740 TIP/ITE
Christine Leuenberger
SBE
cleuenbe@nsf.gov (703) 292-7563 SBE/SES
Joseph M. Whitmeyer
SBE
jwhitmey@nsf.gov (703) 292-7808 SBE/SES
May Yuan
SBE
mayuan@nsf.gov (703) 292-2206 SBE/BCS
William S. Bainbridge
CISE
wbainbri@nsf.gov (703) 292-7470
Michael Ford
EHR
miford@nsf.gov (703) 292-5153 EDU/DRL
Gianluca Cusatis
ENG
gcusatis@nsf.gov (703) 292-5026 ENG/CMMI
Laura Lautz
GEO
llautz@nsf.gov (703) 292-7775 GEO/EAR
Robert Meulenberg
MPS
rmeulenb@nsf.gov (703) 292-7106 MPS/DMR
Randy L. Phelps
OIA
rphelps@nsf.gov (703) 292-8040 OD/OIA
Reed S. Beaman
BIO
rsbeaman@nsf.gov (703) 292-7163 BIO/DBI
Chaitanya K. Baru
TIP
cbaru@nsf.gov (703) 292-4596 TIP/OAD

Awards made through this program

Browse projects funded by this program
Map of recent awards made through this program