Abstract collage of science-related imagery

Small Business Innovation Research Program Phase I Solicitation FY-2014 (Release 2)

Status: Archived

Archived funding opportunity

This document has been archived.

Important information for proposers

All proposals must be submitted in accordance with the requirements specified in this funding opportunity and in the NSF Proposal & Award Policies & Procedures Guide (PAPPG) that is in effect for the relevant due date to which the proposal is being submitted. It is the responsibility of the proposer to ensure that the proposal meets these requirements. Submitting a proposal prior to a specified deadline does not negate this requirement.

Synopsis

The Small Business Innovation Research (SBIR) Program stimulates technological innovation in the private sector by strengthening the role of small business concerns in meeting Federal research and development needs, increasing the commercial application of federally supported research results, and fostering and encouraging participation by socially and economically disadvantaged and women-owned small businesses.

The SBIR program solicits proposals from the small business sector consistent with NSF's mission. The program is governed by Public Law 112-81 (SBIR/STTR Reauthorization Act of 2011). A main purpose of the legislation is to stimulate technological innovation and increase private sector commercialization. The NSF SBIR program is therefore in a unique position to meet both the goals of NSF and the purpose of the SBIR legislation by transforming scientific discovery into both social and economic benefit, and by emphasizing private sector commercialization. Accordingly, NSF has formulated broad solicitation topics for SBIR that conform to the high-technology investment sector's interests.

The topics are:

Note: The submission of the same project idea to both this SBIR Phase I solicitation and the concurrent STTR Phase I solicitation is strongly discouraged.

Program contacts

Prakash Balan
Biological and Chemical Technologies (BC)
pbalan@nsf.gov (703) 292-5341 ENG/EEC
Steven Konsek
Electronics, Information and Communication Technologies (EI)
skonsek@nsf.gov (703) 292-7021
Glenn H. Larsen
Education Applications (EA)
glarsen@nsf.gov (703) 292-4607
Rajesh Mehta
Nanotechnology, Advanced Materials and Manufacturing (NM)
rmehta@nsf.gov (703) 292-2174 TIP/TI
Muralidharan S. Nair
Electronics, Information and Communication Technologies (EI)
mnair@nsf.gov (703) 292-7059
Benaiah Schrag
Nanotechnology, Advanced Materials and Manufacturing (NM)
bschrag@nsf.gov (703) 292-8323 TIP/TI
Ruth M. Shuman
Biological and Chemical Technologies (BC)
rshuman@nsf.gov (703) 292-2160 TIP/TI
Jesus V. Soriano
Biological and Chemical Technologies (BC)
jsoriano@nsf.gov (703) 292-7795 ENG/EEC

Awards made through this program

Browse projects funded by this program
Map of recent awards made through this program