NSF News

NSF and AFGE sign new collective bargaining agreement

The National Science Foundation (NSF) and the American Federation of Government Employees (AFGE) Local 3403 announced today that they have signed a new collective bargaining agreement (CBA).  The new agreement codifies, clarifies, and updates current agency practices and policies in the context of current rules, laws, and regulations for approximately 1,000 NSF bargaining-unit employees. The last collective bargaining agreement was signed in 1982.

“The completion of today’s agreement between NSF and AFGE Local 3403 is a milestone in our relationship with our workforce and the union," said NSF Director France Córdova. “We look forward to our continued partnership with AFGE Local 3403.”

“The new CBA is a thoughtful collaboration between labor and management that reflects effective practices in federal labor,” said AFGE Local 3403 President David Verardo.

The collective bargaining agreement will be effective immediately and will remain in effect for a period of four years.