Abstract collage of science-related imagery

EMERGING FRONTIERS IN RESEARCH AND INNOVATION (EFRI): Biocomputing through EnGINeering Organoid Intelligence (BEGIN OI)

View guidelines

NSF 24-508

Important information for proposers

All proposals must be submitted in accordance with the requirements specified in this funding opportunity and in the NSF Proposal & Award Policies & Procedures Guide (PAPPG) that is in effect for the relevant due date to which the proposal is being submitted. It is the responsibility of the proposer to ensure that the proposal meets these requirements. Submitting a proposal prior to a specified deadline does not negate this requirement.

Supports foundational and transformative research to advance the design, engineering and fabrication of organoid systems that are capable of processing information dynamically while interfacing with non-living systems.

Supports foundational and transformative research to advance the design, engineering and fabrication of organoid systems that are capable of processing information dynamically while interfacing with non-living systems.

Synopsis

The Emerging Frontiers in Research and Innovation (EFRI) program of the NSF Directorate for Engineering (ENG) serves a critical role in helping ENG focus on important emerging areas in a timely manner. The EFRI Biocomputing through EnGINeering Organoid Intelligence (BEGIN OI) solicitation supports foundational and transformative research to advance the design, engineering, and fabrication of organoid systems that are capable of processing information dynamically while interfacing with non-living systems.

This solicitation will be coordinated with the Directorate for Biological Sciences (BIO), the Directorate for Computer and Information Science and Engineering (CISE), the Directorate for Mathematical and Physical Sciences, and the Directorate for Social, Behavioral, and Economic Sciences (SBE).

The EFRI program seeks proposals with potentially transformative ideas that represent an opportunity for a significant shift in fundamental engineering knowledge with strong potential for long term impact on national needs or a grand challenge. The proposals must also meet the detailed requirements delineated in this solicitation.

INFORMATIONAL WEBINAR: The Emerging Frontiers and Multidisciplinary Activities (EFMA) Office will host an informational webinar in November 2023 to discuss the EFRI FY 2024/25 solicitation and to answer questions. Details on how to join this webinar will be posted on the EFRI website and Solicitation Website.

Program contacts

The following Program Officers may also be contacted for content-specific questions on the EFRI BEGIN OI Topic.

Biocomputing through EnGINeering Organoid Intelligence (BEGIN OI),

  • Topic Coordinator: Steven Peretti, Program Director, ENG/CBET, telephone: (703) 292-7029, email: speretti@nsf.gov
  • Topic Coordinator: Svetlana Tatic-Lucic, Program Director, ENG/ECCS, telephone: (703) 292-4627, email: staticlu@nsf.gov
  • Krastan Blagoev, Program Director, MPS/PHY, telephone: (703) 292-4666, email: kblagoev@nsf.gov
  • Jordan Berg, Program Director, ENG/CMMI, telephone: (703) 292-5365, email: jberg@nsf.gov
  • Jason Borenstein, Program Director, SBE/OAD, telephone: (703) 292-4207, email: jborenst@nsf.gov
  • Dwight Kravitz, Program Director, SBE/BCS, telephone: (703) 292-4502, email dkravitz@nsf.gov
  • Kenneth Whang, Program Director, CISE/IIS, telephone: (703) 292-5146, email: kwhang@nsf.gov
  • Vishal Sharma, Program Director, CISE/CNS, telephone: (703) 292-8950, email: vsharma@nsf.gov
  • Stephanie Gage, Program Director, CISE/CCF, telephone: (703) 292-4748, email: sgage@nsf.gov
  • Edda Thiels, Program Director, BIO/IOS, telephone: (703) 292-8167, email: ethiels@nsf.gov
  • Stephen Zehnder, Associate Program Director, ENG/CBET, telephone: (703) 292-7014, email: szehnder@nsf.gov
Sohi Rastegar
Office Head
srastega@nsf.gov (703) 292-8305 ENG/OAD
Alias Smith
ENG/EFMA
alismith@nsf.gov (703) 292-8367 ENG/EFMA
BEGIN OI - Topic Lead
Steven W. Peretti, ENG/CBET
speretti@nsf.gov (703) 292 7029
BEGIN OI - Topic Lead
Svetlana Tatic-Lucic, ENG/ECCS
staticlu@nsf.gov (703) 292-4627 ENG/ECCS
Edda Thiels
BIO/IOS
ethiels@nsf.gov (703) 292-8421 TIP/ITE
Kenneth C. Whang
CISE/IIS
kwhang@nsf.gov (703) 292-5149 CISE/IIS
Vishal Sharma
CISE/CNS
vsharma@nsf.gov (703) 292-8950 CISE/CNS
Jordan M. Berg
ENG/CMMI
jberg@nsf.gov (703) 292-5365 ENG/CMMI
Steven M. Zehnder
ENG/CBET
szehnder@nsf.gov (703) 292-7014 ENG/CBET
Krastan B. Blagoev
MPS/PHY
kblagoev@nsf.gov (703) 292-4666 MPS/PHY
Jason D. Borenstein
SBE/OAD
jborenst@nsf.gov (703) 292-4207 SBE/OAD
Dwight Kravitz
SBE/BCS
dkravitz@nsf.gov (703) 292-4502 SBE/BCS

Awards made through this program

Browse projects funded by this program
Map of recent awards made through this program