Abstract collage of science-related imagery

Mathematical and Physical Sciences Ascending Faculty Catalyst Awards (MPS-AFCA)

View guidelines


Important information for proposers

All proposals must be submitted in accordance with the requirements specified in this funding opportunity and in the NSF Proposal & Award Policies & Procedures Guide (PAPPG) that is in effect for the relevant due date to which the proposal is being submitted. It is the responsibility of the proposer to ensure that the proposal meets these requirements. Submitting a proposal prior to a specified deadline does not negate this requirement.

MPS-Ascend Faculty Catalyst Awards


The purpose of the Mathematical and Physical Sciences Ascending Faculty Catalyst Awards (MPS-Ascend Faculty Catalyst Awards, MPS-AFCA) is to support successful MPS-Ascending Postdoctoral Research Fellows (MPS-Ascend Fellows) as they transition into tenure track (or equivalent) faculty positions at Institutions of Higher Education (IHE) in any scientific area within the purview of the five MPS Divisions: the Divisions of Astronomical Sciences (AST), Chemistry (CHE), Materials Research (DMR), Mathematical Sciences (DMS), and Physics (PHY). The program is intended to support these investigators of significant potential by providing them with resources for research and broadening participation activities that are in addition to initial resources typically provided through institutional start-up packages. This support is strategically designed to enable their continued scientific contributions and their exemplary leadership in the area of broadening participation. MPS-Ascend Postdoc Fellows are invited to apply for an MPS-Ascend Faculty Catalyst Award after consultation with the managing or cognizant Program Director of the MPS-Ascend Postdoc Fellowship Award.

Program contacts

Catalina Achim
cachim@nsf.gov (703) 292-2048 MPS/OAD
Andrea Prestwich
aprestwi@nsf.gov (703) 292-2210 MPS/AST
Samy El-Shall
selshall@nsf.gov (703) 292-7416 MPS/CHE
Nitsa Rosenzweig
nirosenz@nsf.gov (703) 292-7256 MPS/DMR
Swatee Naik
snaik@nsf.gov (703) 292-4876 MPS/DMS
Kathleen V. McCloud
kmccloud@nsf.gov (703) 292-8236 MPS/PHY

Awards made through this program

Browse projects funded by this program
Map of recent awards made through this program