AAAS Fellows in front of the U.S. Capitol building

NSF AAAS Science and Technology Policy Fellows


Photo of Dr. Janice Daniel
Credit: National Science Foundation


Dr. Janice Daniel
AAAS Science and Technology Policy Fellow
Directorate for STEM Education
Division of Graduate Education
Class of 2022–2023

Dr. Janice Daniel is a professor in the civil and environmental engineering department and the associate dean for research and graduate studies in the Newark College of Engineering. She has been a professor at NJIT since 1999 teaching courses in traffic control and capacity analysis and performing research in the areas of traffic operations and transportation safety. Daniel began her career working in the traffic engineering division of the Port Authority of New York and New Jersey. She has also worked as a transportation engineer for a transportation consulting firm. Daniel's research has been sponsored by several agencies including the U.S. National Science Foundation, Federal Highway Administration, New Jersey Department of Transportation, New Jersey Division of Highway Traffic Safety and NJ Transit. Her research has focused on optimization of freight movement in urban areas, as well as on roadway safety, specifically within the areas of vehicle-occupant restraint; pedestrian, bicyclist and truck safety; and on safety at highway-rail grade crossings.

Daniel has spent the 25+ years of her academic career in the area of graduate education. She has not only primarily taught at the graduate level, but has held academic roles focused at graduate education both at the department and college level. As the associate chair of graduate studies within her department, she was responsible for Ph.D. recruitment and advisement. In her role as the associate dean for research and graduate studies in the Newark College of Engineering, she worked with the college's engineering departments to promote effective graduate course development and program delivery. Daniel has been a member of the Transportation Research Board Highway Capacity and Quality of Service Committee, the Task Force on Arterials and Public Health and the Operational Effects of Geometrics Committee.