Photos of NSF researchers
Estab­lished Program to Stim­u­late Com­pet­i­tive Research

EPSCoR Criteria for Eligibility

Map showing EPSCoR States and Territories

The CHIPS and Science Act of 2022 effectively freezes NSF EPSCoR jurisdiction eligibility through Fiscal Year (FY) 2027. EPSCoR-eligible jurisdictions will remain the same through FY2027 to include the following jurisdictions: Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, Delaware, Guam, Hawaii, Idaho, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Mississippi, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Puerto Rico, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Vermont, US Virgin Islands, West Virginia, and Wyoming. As such, no new jurisdictions will be considered eligible for EPSCoR funding through FY 2027.

NSF will continue to monitor jurisdictional progress in increasing competitiveness for NSF funding in EPSCoR jurisdictions. Tables on NSF funding progress can be viewed using the links below.