SBE Advisory Committee

The Advisory Committee for Social, Behavioral and Economic Sciences (SBE) meets twice yearly to provide advice, recommendations and oversight to the directorate concerning support for research, education and human resources. The advisory committee is a diverse group of leaders from a wide range of social, behavioral and economic science fields.

Advisory committee members perform the following duties:

  • Review and advise on the impact of programs in the disciplines and fields encompassed by the directorate.
  • Provide oversight of overall program management and performance.
  • Advise on the impact of NSF-wide policies on the SBE scientific community.

Meetings

Upcoming meeting

Spring 2024 meeting
June 6–7, 2024


Past meetings

Fall 2023 meeting
December 14–15, 2023

Spring 2023 meeting
June 8–9, 2023
 

See more past meetings

Members

Dominique Brossard (Chair)
Chair and Professor, Department of Life Sciences Communication
University of Wisconsin-Madison
Email: dbrossard@wisc.edu
Website
Appointment date: spring 2019
Term ends: fall 2024

Brenda Allen
President, Lincoln University
Email: ballen@lincoln.edu
Website
Appointment date: fall 2023
Term ends: spring 2026

Marie Banich
Executive Director, Intermountain Neuroimaging Consortium
Professor, Institute of Cognitive Science, Department of Psychology & Neuroscience
University of Colorado at Boulder
Email: Marie.Banich@colorado.edu
Website
Appointment date: fall 2021
Term ends: spring 2027

Jennifer Cole
Professor
Department of Linguistics
Northwestern University
Email: jennifer.cole1@northwestern.edu
Website
Appointment date: fall 2022
Term ends: spring 2025

Sandra Graham
Distinguished Professor and University of California Presidential Chair in Education and Diversity
Department of Education
UCLA
Email: graham@gseis.ucla.edu; shgraham@ucla.edu
Website
Appointment date: spring 2019
Term ends: fall 2024

Robin Leichenko
Associate Dean of Social And Behavioral Sciences
Former and Founding Co-Director of The Rutgers Climate Institute
Rutgers University
Email: robin.leichenko@rutgers.edu.
Website
Appointment date: fall 2021
Term ends: spring 2027

Kristen Olson
Director, Bureau of Sociological Research
Leland J. and Dorothy H. Olson Professor in Sociology
Department of Sociology
University of Nebraska-Lincoln.
Email: kolson5@unl.edu.
Website.
Appointment date: fall 2022
Term ends: spring 2025

Willie Pearson Jr.
Regents Professor of Sociology
School of History and Sociology
Georgia Institute of Technology
Email: willie.pearson@hsoc.gatech.edu
Appointment date: fall 2019
Term ends: spring 2025

Nancy Potok
CEO, NAPx Consulting
Email: nancy@napxconsulting.com
Website
Appointment date: fall 2023
Term ends: spring 2026

Adam Russell
Director of Artificial Intelligence Division, USC Information Sciences Institute
University of Southern California
Email: arussell@isi.edu
Website
Appointment date: fall 2020
Term ends: spring 2026

Jane Simoni (Ex officio)
Associate Director for Behavioral and Social Sciences Research and Director of the Office of Behavioral and Social Sciences Research
National Institutes of Health
Email: jane.simoni@nih.gov
Appointment date: fall 2023

Ebonya Washington
Laurans A. and Arlene Mendelson Professor of Economics
Columbia University
Email: ebonya.washington@columbia.edu
Website
Appointment date: fall 2023
Term ends: spring 2026

Contact information

If you have any questions, concerns or comments concerning SBE advisory committee meetings, please contact SBE Senior Advisor Andy DeSoto via phone at (703) 292-4416 or email at kadesoto@nsf.gov.