50 postdoctoral fellowships awarded to early-career scientists in the social, behavioral and economic sciences

The U.S. National Science Foundation's Directorate for Social, Behavioral and Economic Sciences has awarded 50 early-career researchers with postdoctoral fellowships. The fellowships will support research on a range of human-focused topics, from using brain imaging to understand the neural mechanisms that support psychological well-being to developing new computational methods that can help American families build greater financial security.

Each fellowship award will support an early-career researcher for two years. In addition to conducting fundamental research, a sponsoring senior researcher mentors fellows to help prepare them for a career in science. Fourteen of the fellowships were supported by funds provided by the "American Rescue Plan Act of 2021" to help bolster institutions and researchers who were impacted particularly hard by the coronavirus pandemic.

"Early-career scientists pave the way for future innovations and breakthroughs," says Josie Miranda, director of the Social, Behavioral and Economic Sciences Postdoctoral Research Fellowships program. "It is critically important to support them during the postdoctoral period so they can gain the scientific expertise and training necessary to do cutting-edge research. The additional funds we received through the 'American Rescue Plan Act of 2021' allowed us to support a greater number of promising researchers and their future scientific advancements."


2021 Postdoctoral Research Fellows in the Social, Behavioral and Economic Sciences:

Kirsten Adam (University of California San Diego).
Sponsoring scientist: John Serences.

Omer Ali (Duke University).
Sponsoring scientist: William Darity Jr.

Sebastian Benthall (New York University).
Sponsoring scientist: Katherine J. Strandberg.

George Borg (Science History Institute of Philadelphia).
Sponsoring scientist: Charlotte A. Abney Salomon.

Gina Buckley (University of Missouri Research Reactor Center).
Sponsoring scientist: Virginie Renson.

Paul Connor (Columbia University).
Sponsoring scientist: Jonathan Freeman.

Kristin Dobbin (University of California Los Angeles).
Sponsoring scientist: Gregory Pierce.

Tess Doeffinger (University of Delaware).
Sponsoring scientist: A.R. Siders.

Hayley Dorfman (Harvard University).
Sponsoring scientist: Elizabeth Phelps.

Shiloh Drake (University of Oregon).
Sponsoring scientist: Melissa M. Baese-Berk.

Lauren Drakopulos (Cornell University).
Sponsoring scientist: Jenny Goldstein.

Natasha Duell (University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill).
Sponsoring scientist: Keely A. Muscatell.

Erin Eife (University of Wisconsin–Madison).
Sponsoring scientist: John Major Eason.

Michael Esbach (Princeton University).
Sponsoring scientist: João Biehl.

Alejandro Figueroa (University of Missouri).
Sponsoring scientist: Brandi L. MacDonald.

Julia Fine (College of Saint Benedict and Saint John's University).
Sponsoring scientist: Corrie Grosse.

Raquel Fleskes (University of Connecticut).
Sponsoring scientist: Deborah Bolnick.

Samantha Floyd (Massachusetts Institute of Technology).
Sponsoring scientist: Edward Gibson.

Alon Hafri (Johns Hopkins University).
Sponsoring scientist: Michael F. Bonner.

Jacob Harris (University of California Los Angeles)
Sponsoring scientist: Brian M. Wood

Fred Ariel Hernandez (University of California, Irvine).
Sponsoring scientist: Kim Fortun.

Daniel Horschler (Yale University).
Sponsoring scientist: Laurie Santos.

Sa-kiera Hudson (Yale University).
Sponsoring scientist: Jennifer Richeson.

Emily Hite (Northern Arizona University).
Sponsoring scientist: Denielle Perry.

Ashley Jordan (Princeton University).
Sponsoring scientist: Kristina Olson.

Sophie Kuchynka (Rutgers University).
Sponsoring scientist: Luis M. Rivera.

Ethan Kutlu (University of Iowa).
Sponsoring scientist: Bob McMurray.

Elise Laugier (Rutgers University).
Sponsoring scientist: Dan Cabanes.

Yoonjeong Lee (University of Michigan).
Sponsoring scientist: Jelena Krivokapić.

Jennifer Lu (University of California, Berkeley).
Sponsoring scientist: Mahesh Srinivasan.

Ian Lundberg (University of California Los Angeles).
Sponsoring scientist: Jennie E. Brand.

Julia Marshall (Boston College).
Sponsoring scientist: Katherine McAuliffe.

Weston McCool (University of Utah).
Sponsoring scientist: Brian F. Codding.

Melisa Menceloglu (Brown University).
Sponsoring scientist: Joo-Hyun Song.

Joao Moreira (University of California Los Angeles).
Sponsoring scientist: Carolyn Parkinson.

Emma Mullaney (Michigan State University).
Sponsoring scientist: Laura Schmitt Olabisi.

Dung Nguyen (University of California, Irvine).
Sponsoring scientist: Lisa Pearl.

Erik Nook (Yale University).
Sponsoring scientist: Dylan G. Gee.

Madeleine Oakley (North Carolina State University).
Sponsoring scientist: Jeff Mielke.

Sam Patterson (New York University).
Sponsoring scientist: James Higham.

Benjamin Pitt (University of California, Berkeley).
Sponsoring scientist: Steven Piantadosi.

Marie Plaisime (Harvard University).
Sponsoring scientist: Mary Bassett.

Lauren Schiller (Teachers College Columbia University).
Sponsoring scientist: Robert S. Siegler.

Cara Steger (Cornell University).
Sponsoring scientist: Karim-Aly Kassam.

McKenzie Stokes (Virginia Commonwealth University).
Sponsoring scientist: Fantasy Lozada.

Marijke Stoll (Indiana University).
Sponsoring scientist: Stacie M. King.

Andrea Torvinen (Arizona State University).
Sponsoring scientist: Kostalena Michelaki.

Talia Waltzer (University of California San Diego).
Sponsoring scientist: Gail Heyman.

Amanda Wissler (University of South Carolina).
Sponsoring scientist: Sharon DeWitte.

Maro Youssef (University of Southern California).
Sponsoring scientist: Rhacel Salazar Parennas.