SBE supports early-career scientists with 25 new postdoctoral fellowship awards

The U.S. National Science Foundation's Directorate for Social, Behavioral and Economic Sciences has awarded postdoctoral fellowships to 25 early-career researchers. The fellowships will support research on a range of subjects, including the development of adolescent risk-taking behavior, factors that contribute to successful forest restoration, the archaeology of the antebellum South and language processing in people who speak multiple dialects.

Each postdoctoral fellow will receive two years of research support. In addition to conducting fundamental research, a sponsoring senior researcher mentors fellows to help prepare them for a career in science.

"This cohort of fellows demonstrates the importance of broadening participation in science through the diversity of their respective demographic backgrounds, scientific disciplines and the societal impacts of their research," says Josie Miranda, director of the Social, Behavioral and Economic Sciences Postdoctoral Research Fellowships program. "The U.S. National Science Foundation is extremely proud to support the next generation of social, behavioral and economic scientists who will undoubtedly make important contributions to the U.S. scientific enterprise."


2022 Postdoctoral Research Fellows in the Social, Behavioral and Economic Sciences:

Rotem Aboody (Massachusetts Institute of Technology).
Sponsoring scientist: Laura Schulz.

David Abugaber (University of Michigan).
Sponsoring scientist: Jonathan Brennan.

Katie Adams (Purdue University).
Sponsoring scientist: Christopher Agnew.

Melisa Akan (University of Massachusetts Amherst).
Sponsoring scientist: Jeffrey Starns.

Wolfgang Alders (University of Arkansas, Fayetteville).
Sponsoring scientist: Carla Klehm.

Jamie Amemiya (The University of Chicago).
Sponsoring scientist: Lin Bian.

Emma Armstrong-Carter (University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill).
Sponsoring scientist: Eva H. Telzer.

Mika Asaba (Yale University).
Sponsoring scientist: Julian Jara-Ettinger.

Rayna Benzeev (University of California, Berkeley).
Sponsoring scientist: Meg Mills-Novoa. 

Maximilian Buchholz (University of California Los Angeles).
Sponsoring scientist: Michael Storper.

Elizabeth Cho (The University of North Texas Health Science Center).
Sponsoring scientist: Scott Maddux.

Dylan Davis (Columbia University).
Sponsoring scientist: Kristina Douglass.

Peter Fugiel (Rutgers University).
Sponsoring scientist: Janice Fine.

Matthew Greer (University of Missouri Research Reactor Center).
Sponsoring scientist: Brandi L. MacDonald.  

Jed Sam Guevara (University of Massachusetts Amherst).
Sponsoring scientist: Brian Dillon.

Jessica Katzenstein (Harvard University).
Sponsoring scientist: Lawrence Bobo.

Sibylla Leon Guerrero (University of California, Irvine).
Sponsoring scientist: Julie Washington.

Emily Liquin (New York University).
Sponsoring scientist: Todd Gureckis.

Tom McCoy (Princeton University).
Sponsoring scientist: Thomas Griffiths. 

Sarah Rendon Garcia (Harvard University).
Sponsoring scientist: Carola Suarez-Orazco. 

Michelle Rivers (Texas Christian University).
Sponsoring scientist: Sarah K. Tauber.

Steven Schmidt (University of Southern California).
Sponsoring scientist: Ann Owens.

Sarah Tashjian (California Institute of Technology).
Sponsoring scientist: Dean Mobbs.

Kurt Wilson (University of Utah).
Sponsoring scientist: Simon Brewer.

Katrina Yezzi Woodley (Colorado State University).
Sponsoring scientist: Michael Pante.